The money of words

Posted on March 4, 2009

0


“Only a blockhead would write for anything else.”

As a blockhead I write out of a compulsion. Out of fear, out of anxiety, distress. Doom.  Pain. Confusion. Instability. Writing is a refuge, somewhere to hide, somewhere to put my energy, for a world I can have control over. Does writing give me pleasure? I am not very good at it. I get occasional satisfaction. But what interests me most is the transformational sense that putting things into words produces, but what catches is the unexpected sunlight: and how it brings new certainty.  [Borderline sense: it can fail to work as fully intelligible and yet still be adequate to fact.]

But here is the strange thing:  my writing doesn’t actually appear on this blog.  I need to be paid before I am read.

Posted in: 1